Missouri DWI Defense Attorneys

Our law firm handles Missouri DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) cases. The terms DUI and DWI cover the offense of driving with a breath alcohol content of over .08, or while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that a person is not safe to drive.

Below you will find some general information on penalties you may face if you are convicted of a DWI in Missouri.

In the State of Missouri you are considered “over the limit” or impaired if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. That number is reduced to .04% for commercial drivers (CDL) and even lower at .02% for persons under the age of 21.

Penalties You Could Face If Convicted of Drunk Driving in Missouri

1st Offense DWI

  • Jail up to 6 months
  • Fines up to $500
  • 30 Day License Suspension
  • Possibility of an Ignition Interlock Device

2nd Offense DWI

  • Jail up to 1 Year
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • 1 Year License Suspension
  • Possibility of an Ignition Interlock Device After 1 Year

3rd Offense DWI

  • Jail up to 4 Years
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • 10 Year License Suspension
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

You are considered a repeat offender if you have been convicted of a previous DWI in Missouri within the last 5 years.

Refuse a Chemical Test?

The State of Missouri has an implied consent law if you are arrested for DWI. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test (blood, breath, or urine) you will be lose your driver’s license. The first time you refuse you will lose your license for 1 year and subsequent refusal will require the installation of an ignition interlock device.

If you’ve been charged with DWI in Missouri contact the attorneys at Norton Hare, L.L.C for a free consultation to discuss your options.

Disclaimer: It must be stressed that none of the information contained in these documents should be construed as legal advice, nor does it create any attorney-client relationship between Norton Hare, L.L.C. and the reader. We are providing this content purely for informational purposes regarding DWI law in the state of Missouri. This information in no way represents the totality of the law and issues related to drunk driving.